Posted in art, Comic, Comic a Day

#27 How much less until it’s more

SIMPLER1

A dear friend wrote me this week, and in part of her correspondence, she mentioned that I should forget about perfectionism and instead focus on practicing more and more. We were talking about learning a new language, I find that the same is applicable to other aspects of life.

I constantly get stuck on something because it doesn’t look just right. So like with the drawings I keep wanting to add more and more until it is exactly how I envision it. But it never is. So I get frustrated and toss it aside. I have a stack of sketches that never make it to the blog because of this. Really I know I should be more liberal and just loosen my hand and let it do its work. I wonder though, if this can go too far. If it leaves us in danger of becoming mediocre at that skill because we are not pushing enough.

So many things to consider, some changes are coming, perhaps not so drastic but change nonetheless.

Happy Thursday.

Author:

I am an artist, a reader and a recluse. The things that interest me and that I may be prone to talk about: books, batman, fitness, food, gender, introversion, illustrations, travel and good music

2 thoughts on “#27 How much less until it’s more

  1. Two things here:
    1) There are a lot of possibilities between a very detailed drawing and a simplistic one. Perhaps you can find a compromise between the quality and the time that it takes. Not being a perfectionist doesn’t mean accepting mediocrity, in my view.
    2) Perfectionism DOES kill progress in language learning. And your level in drawing has absolutely nothing to do with your level of French. I’m not sure it’s relevant to compare the two of them. As a beginner in French, you need to practise, as much as you can, no matter how many mistakes you make. Because it’s the practise that will bring you the self assurance to talk more. The biggest difference is that drawing is a rather lonely activity. You draw alone and then you present your finished product to the public, and only then you get feedback. Talking is completely different. Most language learners learn in their corner, and seem to forget that the aim of a language is to communicate at an immediate level (at least for talking). It should be factual and efficient. If you speak with mistakes and yet are understood, you reach your goal. If you are paralysed because your sentence might not be correct, you miss your goal. It’s as simple as that.

    Like

    1. Hi… πŸ™‚ I totally agree, I just have to figure out a good compromise. I made the comparison between language and the drawing because that need for perfection affects me the same. Actually, I am much more flexible with my French attempts than I am with the art, because yes, sometimes people will laugh at my twisted French but every time, they correct it and I immediately learn something new and I hardly make the same error again.
      Now, with art, like you said, I create it alone in my room and most days I will just do it, but somedays I will wonder how it will be received and that will make me doubt, which is why some stuff, I happily share on facebook, but not everything.
      I am working on getting over that need for validation or acknowledgement as it was never one of the reasons why I started this.

      Like

Leave a Reply

