Posted in books

Revisiting Transylvania

This October, I decided I would pick out a classic from my shelf – Bram Stoker’s Dracula. A trully amazing work of fiction. It is strange how some stories exist for so long, or get retold several times that we begin to believe we know the whole story and might even go as far as quoting lines from it – Macbeth, Pride and Prejudice, The Shining, Romeo and Juliet, Harry Potter etc. I was the same way with Dracula, I thought I knew the story, and told myself I had surely read it before. Imagine then, my delight picking up this volume and having all these fully rounded characters springing to life, the lunatic Reinfield, the brave Morris, dear dear Lucy and her poor mother. The story was captivating and almost completely different from any film adaptation I had ever seen. 

I am now placing it back on the shelf to hopefully be reopened in a couple of years. I hope that on that occasion it will give me as much joy as it has now.

Author:

I am an artist, a reader and a recluse. The things that interest me and that I may be prone to talk about: books, batman, fitness, food, gender, introversion, illustrations, travel and good music

2 thoughts on “Revisiting Transylvania

Leave a Reply

